GB team for World Junior Surf Championships announced

GB team for World Junior Surf Championships announced

Surfing GB is proud this week to announce the team it intends to send to the ISA World Junior Championships ISAWJC, to be held in Panama this April.

The British junior squad of 24 hopefuls, which was announced in November following the British National championships, have been put through their paces at a series winter of training camps, all competing for one of the coveted twelve team places.

The standard of surfing from all the squad over the winter months has been very high, and everyone involved has demonstrated excellent commitment, motivation and attitude. The depth of talent in each division has been extremely impressive, and throughout the winter all the heats surfed have been highly competitive.

The team were selected from the British Junior Squad by a selection panel of some of the most respected names in British professional surf coaching including 3x Welsh Champ Lloyd Cole, UK Pro tour head Judge Ester Spears, Professional coaches Joel Gray, Tony Good and John Ellis as well as top American surfer and former ASP Pipeline Master Joey Buran who has proved to be an inspirational coach and has dedicated so much to the GB team.

When bringing the winter training process to a conclusion and picking the final team, the selection panel considered the following factors.

  • All members the final team had attended at least one of the winter squad meetings.
  • Performances at winter training events.
  • Feedback from travelling surfers competing and/or training overseas (including video, reports from overseas coaches and results from overseas contests where applicable).
  • Initial squad ranking based on performances and results from 2011 UKPSA contests.

[nggallery id=6]

Based on all of these factors the panel has selected the following team, which they feel will best represent Great Britain at the 2012 World Junior Surfing Games in Panama.

“It’s a real honour to be involved with such a talented team,” said GB surf team head coach Lloyd Cole.

The process to reach the final rankings in each division was extremely hard, but the panel have come to a majority decision on the final team and stand by their decision.

“The panel had to make some very tough decisions as the whole squad have all performed well over the winter, the under sixteen boys was particularly tight, which is a good signal for the future of British surfing. We are confident we have picked the strongest possible team and wish them luck at the World Championships,” said chair of selectors Ester Spears.

Former Pipline Masters champ Joey Buran said: “I believe the 2012 British Junior Surf Team looks to be the best in the history of British Junior surfing. This team is made up of 12 talented and committed individuals lead by world class surfers Luke Dillon, Jobe Harris, and Tassy Swallow. These three surfers have loads of talent and international experience and the sky is the limit for their potential results in Panama. The under 16 boys, though untested in ISA competition, represent the nucleus of the future for British Junior surfing, they are very talented and well prepared for this year’s upcoming event. This team also features Peony Knight who, at 14, is clearly one of the top talents for her age in the world. I am confident that this group of surfers and coaches have done everything possible to be ready for this year’s ISAWJC. A new era has dawned in British surfing and the world is about to see it.”

GB squad during winter training

The following rankings show the top four surfers in each division with two reserves. The rest of the surfers were not ranked in any order, but the panel agreed that as the standard of surfing across the board was so good, all surfers involved in the training should be listed.

Under 18 Boys

Under 16 Boys

Under 18 Girls

Jobe Harriss

Taz Knight

Tassy Swallow

Luke Dillon

Angus Scotney

Ellen Harding

Miles Lee Hargreaves

Harry De Roth

Lucy Campbell

Will Davey

Max Payne

Peony Knight




Paddy Daniel

Rhys Barfield

Laura Crane

Simon Trebilcock

Dale Foster

Flora Lawton

Liam Turner

Ed Smith

Emily Currie

Liam Murray Strout

Liz Hodson

Well done to everyone involved in what has been a highly competitive winter training programme and we wish the GB team every success in Panama.


Note to editors:

Surfing GB is the successor to the Surfing’s National Governing Body the British Surfing Association.

For more info please visit our website: or contact email us:

For press contact and interviews contact:

GB Team coordinator – John Ellis 07776 156713

Surfing GB chair of selectors Ester Spears – 07812 079157

Download the press release in a format to suit:

GB surf team announced-word Doc

GB surf team announced – Open office

GB surf team announced – PDF


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *